January Reading Wrap Up

JanuaryWrapUp.jpg

I hard a strong start to my 2019 reading challenge. I’m really proud of myself because I was able to read 6 books this month. To keep on track with my yearly reading challenge, I only needed to read 3 books, putting me 3 books ahead of schedule.

This month I read the book from my December OwlCrate box, 2 of January’s featured reads for the 50 Book Pledge, and a manuscript that’s too be published in May (which is why it is not featured in my mo nthly wrap-up despite counting towards my reading challenge).

My average rating for this month is 4.5/5 stars! The longest book I read was Fire & Blood by George RR Martin (719 pages) and the shortest was The Tattooist of Auschwitz (288 pages).

Here are the books I read this month and what I thought of them:

Fire & Blood by George R.R. Martin

Published by Bantam Books in 2018

Published by Bantam Books in 2018

RATING: 5/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

I started my month off with the first volume of the complete Targaryen History, taking place from the Conquest of King Aegon I to the end of the Regency of Aegon III. This enthralling tale is written like a history textbook, complete with additional footnotes. The history of House Targaryen is riddled with power lust, betrayal, and kinslaying which lead to the extinction of dragons. It further attests to what Cersei Lannister says in A Game of Thrones: “When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die. There is no middle ground.” And from the first 136 years it is proven that, indeed, there is no middle ground.

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton

Published by Graydon House in 2018

Published by Graydon House in 2018

RATING: 4/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

This book is the first featured read of The Savvy Reader’s 2019 50 Book Pledge and I really enjoyed this debut novel. The voice was great and the story was interesting. The main character’s mindsight was “If you love someone set them free. If they come back, they’re yours. If they don’t, make them.” While I found she was an interesting and complex character, I found her hard to relate to because her rationale is so absurd. But overall, a really great read.

Amber & Dusk by Lyra Selene

Published Scholastic in 2018

Published Scholastic in 2018

RATING: 5/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

My first OwlCrate box (December 2018) featured an OwlCrate exclusive edition of Amber & Dusk by Lyra Selene. This is a

great debut novel, perfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles. The world building and character development in this story are phenomenal. The magic in this world is complex and varies based on a person's experience. I had such a hard time putting this book down. I'm so excited for the next part of this series!

Notes on a Nervous Planet by Matt Haig

Published by Harper Avenue in 2019

Published by Harper Avenue in 2019

RATING: 4/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ☆

A great personal memoir, self-help book about anxiety in the modern world. I picked this book up because I found the subject matter to be super interesting and it was a quick and easy read. Definitely recommend for anyone wanting to read more about how technology affects our anxiety. The book is filled with so many great quotes!

The Tattooist of Auschwitz by Heather Morris

Published by Harper Paperbacks in 2018

Published by Harper Paperbacks in 2018

RATING: 5/5
★ ★ ★ ★ ★

This novel is an inspiring love story set during World War II. I think it’s a beautiful story about how the bad situations can bring people together and about the power of true love. Heather Morris has a beautiful writing style that really makes characters come alive on the page.


What books did you read in January? Let me know in the comments below!